Take a stand for transgender rights – contact Senators on November 20

Canada’s Senate is about to take a decision on whether to extend important human rights protections to Canada’s transgender communities. On Thursday, November 20, Trans Day of Remembrance, please take 5 minutes to voice your support for this legislation by phoning at least one member of the Senate Committee which will soon decide this legislation’s fate!

Who to call

Name

Province

Party

Phone

Email

Social media

Sen. Bob Runciman

ON

C

613-943-4020 

runcib@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

Sen. George Baker

NL

L

613-947-2517 

bakerg@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

Sen. Denise Batters

SK

C

613-996-8922 

denise.batters@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

Sen. Pierre-Hugues Boisvenu

QC

C

613-943-4030 

boisvp@sen.parl.gc.ca

Facebook

Sen. Jean-Guy Dagenais

QC

C

613-996-7644 

dagenj@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

Sen. Linda Frum

ON

C

613-992-0310 

fruml@sen.parl.gc.ca

@LindaFrum

Sen. Mobina Jaffer

BC

L

613-992-0189 

mjaffer@sen.parl.gc.ca

@SenJaffer

Sen. Serge Joyal

QC

L

613-943-0434 

joyals@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

Sen. Thomas Johnson McInnis

NS

C

613-943-1662 

mcinnt@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

Sen. Paul McIntyre

NB

C

613-943-1756 

mcintp@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

Sen. Donald Plett

MB

C

613-992-0180

plettd@sen.parl.gc.ca

@DonPlett

Sen. Jean-Claude Rivest

QC

I

613-947-2236 

jcrivest@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

What to say

  • My name is __________________ and I am calling from _____________________ to urge you to support the swift passage of Bill C-279 on Gender Identity as it is currently drafted.
  • Canada’s transgender communities have long suffered discrimination and violence and this legislation is part of the solution to protecting the human rights of transgender individuals.
  • I would like you to know that I am not afraid of sharing public spaces including bathrooms with transgender people.
  • But I am afraid that unless C-279 passes unamended, transgender people will continue to live in fear each and every time they enter a public space such as a bathroom.
  • Delays in passing legislation cost lives. This bill is as perfect as it’s going to get. Please do the right thing and support Bill C-279 as drafted. Let this be your legacy for this Parliamentary session.
  • Thank you for your time.

What else can I do?

  • Call other Senators! Contact details here
  • Email Senators, post messages on their Facebook pages, or send them Tweets! Remember to use the hashtag #SupportBillC279 and mention (@TransEqualityCN)

Want more information?

Visit www.transequalitycanada.com

Topics: 

November 17, 2014
Share/Save