Take a stand for trans rights

Canada’s Senate is about to make a decision on whether to extend important human rights protections to Canada’s trans communities. You can help. Please take 5 minutes to voice your support for this legislation by phoning at least one member of the Senate Committee which will soon decide this legislation’s fate!

Who to call

Name

Province

Party

Phone

Email

Social media

Bob Runciman

ON

C

613-943-4020 

 bob.runciman@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

George Baker

NL

L

613-947-2517 

 george.baker@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

Denise Batters

SK

C

613-996-8922 

denise.batters@sen.parl.gc.ca

Twitter

Pierre-Hugues Boisvenu

QC

C

613-943-4030 

 pierre-hugues.boisvenu@sen.parl.gc.ca

Facebook

Jean-Guy Dagenais

QC

C

613-996-7644 

jean-guy.dagenais@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

Mobina Jaffer

BC

L

613-992-0189 

mobina.jaffer@sen.parl.gc.ca

Twitter

Serge Joyal

QC

L

613-943-0434 

serge.joyal@sen.parl.gc.ca  

 

Paul McIntyre

NB

C

613-943-1756 

 paul.mcintyre@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

Gwen Boniface

ON

I

613-995-9193

Gwen.Boniface@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

Renee Dupuis

QC

I

613-996-2063

Renee.Dupuis@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

Ratna Omdivar

ON

I

613-943-4330

Ratna.Omidvar@sen.parl.gc.ca

Twitter

Kim Pate

ON

I

613-995-9220

Kim.Pate@sen.parl.gc.ca

Twitter

Andre Pratte

QC

I

613-995-0300

Andre.Pratte@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

Murray Sinclair

MB

I

613-995-0234

Senator.Sinclair@sen.parl.gc.ca

Twitter

Vernon White

ON

C

613-996-7602

senatorwhite@sen.parl.gc.ca

 

 

What to say

  • My name is __________________ and I am calling from _____________________ to urge you to support the swift passage of Bill C-16  and ensure that it is voted on without further delays.
  • Canada’s trans communities have long suffered discrimination and violence and this legislation is part of the solution to protecting the human rights of trans individuals.
  • I would like you to know that I am not afraid of sharing public spaces, including bathrooms, with trans people.
  •  I am afraid that unless C-16 passes, trans people will continue to live in fear each and every time they enter a public space.
  • Delays in passing legislation cost lives. Please do the right thing and support Bill C-16 without amendment. Let this be your legacy for this Parliamentary session.
  • Thank you for your time.

What else can I do?

Want more information?

Visit www.transequalitycanada.com

Topics: 

May 10, 2017
Share/Save